Have Owl, Will Travel

So over the last month or two I have been working away on quite a large owl woodcut that I designed. This block was interrupted a few times by other woodcuts that came calling but this week I finally finished and printed it. I am very chuffed at how well it turned out seeing as I found it to be really challenging not only in the carving but in trying to push my style in new directions.
Owl_Block-2

Here is the Artist Proof with the block.

Owl_Block

More often than not I usually either print an edition or put it all away and come back to it months or years from now in preparation for hanging in a frame on a wall somewhere. This time however I shared it with folks on my Facebook page and was encouraged by the positive response. This led me to think about cheaper/better ways to share what I’ve made. From this I’ve decided to try something new – I’m going to make a limited edition run of t-shirts of our new avian friend.

This is what the woodcut will look like once it’s hand screenprinted onto the t-shirts.

OwlDesign

…and this is how the t-shirt will look on the front and the back.

Owl_mockup_tshirt

I have decided to set this all up as a strictly two week pre-order. The pre-order period will start Friday 11th October and close Friday 25th October. Go to…

http://againstthewoodgrain.bandcamp.com/merch/limited-edition-owl-design-t-shirt

…and you will be able to pre-order the t-shirt in your preferred size. Please note I am currently only planning for this to be a one off run. Once the two week pre-order period has passed, I will take everyone’s orders and go get the t-shirts printed. Once that’s done I will ship them out to everyone.

So yeah, thanks for reading and I hope you’re interested in this little experiment/offer. I think these t-shirts will look really cool.

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

.

  1. i think your work is beautiful, and it has inspired me to sharpen my woodcut tools again, x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

