This Weeks Carve

In a pleasant turn of events I have had a few days off work this week so I put myself to (a better form of) work. Keeping it small and manageable I  fleshed out a multiple block image I had in mind.

This print ended up having three blocks with a variety of monochrome colours. The blocks were carved using a 4.5mm U gouge and a scalpel. At various points while carving out the skull and the mans mouth and eyes I needed to get my magnifying glass to make sure I got my lines right.  Still I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. Three days satisfying work.Image

The as yet untitled print does need some tweaking with the variations of colours. I might make the man lighter and more shadow-like and the skull darker and mix in some warmer tones when inking next. The print size is 17.5cm x 24.5cm.

Image

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

