South Of The Border – East Of The City

I don’t head down to James St in the valley often enough. This is my loss seeing as that means I don’t get to go hang out at Jamie’s Espresso nearly as much as I’d like to. Jamie, Carmella, Bo and the lovely ladies who work there are a super bunch.

Well I’d like to thank them for giving me the best reason to go hang there during the month of May as some of my woodcuts will be adorning their walls. This will be a preview of sorts of new works leading up to my solo show in a couple of weeks (just down the road at Ksubi).

Painting El Pajaro

Here is me putting the finishing touches of paint to a print that will be hanging there. I’ve gone and expanded on a series of prints I started in the summer of 2011/2012 of Mexican Loteria cards.

Loteria: is the Spanish word for lottery. Loteria is a Latin American game of chance, similar to bingo but using images on a deck of cards instead of plain numbers on ping-pong balls. The deck is composed of a set of 54 different images, each one in a card.

To start the game, the caller randomly selects a card from the deck and announces it to the players by its name, sometimes using a riddle instead of reading the card name. The players with a matching pictogram on their board mark it off with a chip or other kind of marker such as small rocks or pinto beans. The first player with four chips in a horizontal, vertical or diagonal row, a squared pattern or fills the tabla first shouts “Lotería!” (Lottery!) and is the winner.

The Prints will be hanging at Jamie’s from this Thursday 2nd May and I will be hanging out at Jamie’s Thurdsday night from around 5pm if you want to come down and check it all out/catch up/have a chat!

In the real world Jamie’s is at 49 James Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane. In the not so real world, Jamie’s can also be found here: http://jamies.com.au

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

