This Book Belongs To…

If I told you that I’d been really slack of late, I’d only be half lying. Really slack at blogging (as I was informed of today) but truth be known I have completed at least eight woodcuts over the last few months and that’s not slack in my world.

I’d love to show you everything that’s been under the knife but quite a few of the pieces I have been working on have been illustrations on commission so I will have to wait to give you the run down. Still there have been a numerous projects going on simultaneously and some have been completed.

Months ago a friend of E. asked if I could make some bookplates for her little girl and her much loved and growing book collection. I made a start sometime ago but only finished them off a few days ago.

Now the tradition of book plates (or Ex-Libris as it’s also known) has a long and beautiful history. Recently the British Museum released a book Ex-Libris: The Art Of Bookplates which showed just how detailed and beautiful this tiny art medium can be. Mine were a really good test at carving out a block that small (around 10cm) as opposed to my usual 30-40cm blocks. I pretty happy with how they turned out. I’m hoping that the little lady who is recieving them also enjoys inscribing her name upon them.

So that’s one project. Soon I’ll show you a print I’ve done for one of my favourite Australian bands. A t-shirt I’ve done for one of my favourite local bands and my favourite recent woodcut which has turned out to be art imitating life imitating art.

Also I am part of a group exhibition in December. More on that in my next update.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

