Glorious Cacophonous Vibes

Yesterday I received the the most awesome package in the mail. The debut 7″ single by Melbourne band Harmony. My good friend Tom Lyngcoln is the voice and the raging storm of this band and the music is easily as good as anything Tom has done in his other (amazing) band The Nation Blue.

But you see that’s not the half of it. The thing that made me real damn happy and proud was the fact that Tom asked me late last year if I would be willing to do the cover-art for the seven-inch. Something that would fit the vibe of the songs enclosed. The record sounds great. It’s on pristine white vinyl and somehow cause it’s a record, it’s worth more to me personally.

The print as you can see is of a person crouched down with their head in their hands. When I first started it, it was to me a woman crouched down but when someone who saw the print of this asked me the other day… “is that you in that picture?” I guess it’s a bit more ambiguous and that’s probably a good thing.

It means a real lot to me to have a woodcut of mine living with the songs of Harmony. So far it’s this years high water mark!

…and here is the my original print. I’ve posthumously titled it ‘Cacophonous Vibes’ and it’s 29.5cm x 39.5cm

  1. November 27th, 2011
  2. June 25th, 2012
  3. January 27th, 2013

Leave a Reply

