Having A Whale Of A Time

This is a poster I made for a little shindig that is coming up next month called Frankly! It’s A Pop Festival. It’s on at the Powerhouse in the suburb of New Farm in my town of Brisbane. I haven’t made a lot of posters in my time and none really that have come from a woodcut of mine so this was a challenge. Given the nature of the event and venue that wanted it, I started with two blocks (one for the whale and one for the ocean) and then went ahead and added text and extras on my computer. This is the woodcut…

Sometime soon, I’ll come back and maybe add a third block to round out the picture. I haven’t decided yet.

  1. Awesome! I love it.

  2. I like it. The colors are cool. How did you add the computer parts?

      • alexandeverything
      • August 12th, 2010

      Ellen, I use Adobe photoshop to add in the text and textured background. In total about another eight or nine hours of work from the print to the finished product.

      Alex 🙂

  3. Nice, very nice! Congrats !

  4. It’s an awesome poster, Alex. Congratulations!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

