Because Being Punk Is Too Hard

So two weeks ago my good friend Luke called me and asked if I’d be interested in doing the illustration for a t-shirt for his band Violent Soho. I’ll tell you what, I couldn’t say yes fast enough. I love Violent Soho. Their music is great and even better with the volume and energy of their live show. It just so happens that all four members of Soho are top notch dudes. I quickly decided that I’d better not stuff this up!

So they gave me an outline of what they were looking for and their idea had a great tongue in cheek vibe to it. Taking the early east coast and west coast punk signposts and mixing it with some Australian references and giving it a bit of a Pettibon flavour but all through my woodcut filter left me with something I was really proud of making.

That’s the T-shirt. Below is the initial block and print that was the first part of the image. One thing that was really unual for me is that I was able to do this woodcut in 48hrs (while going to work and such). That’s the fastest woodcut I’ve done in many many months.

This is the fourth woodcut that’s ended up on a t-shirt this year. It’s been a real good year!

  1. Strong image. Congrats!

    • Wesley
    • December 27th, 2011

    Hey, I’d like to ask about buying some prints for you maybe. Can you send me an email, can’t find yours on this blog and that is my preferred way of contact. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers