More Owls… and some new stuff as well.

I’ve just gone and sent the combined Owls print off to be framed.  Considering the print itself is 70cm wide, It’s going to be a big once it’s boxed and framed. I’m looking forward to putting this one to bed seeing as I have four new blocks all drawn up and ready to go…

Owls (Combined)

There’s going to be an edition of 10 for the combined Owls print. However, for prints that are just of the Owls themselves, I don’t think I’m going to edition it. What I have decided though is that each print I do of this one is going to be on different type of  paper – that way all of the prints will have a very different feel about them. This is some of the different ones:

Owls (V3)

Owls (V4)

Owls (V5)

Also in other small (but exciting news for me). A good friend of E’s, Zena, returned recently from China with a present for E. It was a carvable soapstone that you could make a stamp/seal with. I have a sneaking suspicion that both E and Zena knew where it was going to end up because once I laid eyes on it, I knew exactly what it could be used for…

And after some fine work with a scalpel, here’s what the stamp looked like:

Soap Stone Stamp

Signiture Stamp

…and the first print I applied it to was one I finished just a few days ago, it’s my tribute to the lovers of all things old but not redundant. The Luddite in all of us (well, in me at least).

This block/print was inspired by a friend of mine who so eloquently pointed out to me my inherent suspicion of all things new and technological. It wasn’t obvious to me at the time but he was 100% right.

The Machine Breaking Riots Of 1847

  1. aaagh! you are amazing. This typewriter one – is it for sale???

      • alexandeverything
      • September 17th, 2009

      Ummm… I suppose that it’s for sale. I hadn’t thought about it cause I’ve only done up an artist print. I might try to print up some more this week. So… Yeah, it’s for sale. :)

    • Tricia
    • September 17th, 2009

    Alex the typewriter is amazing (as I suspected it would be when you mentioned it)!

    I think I would love to have a print too if you are considering doing a run.

    Thanks again for your print for X&S.

  2. Hi Alex,
    Nice work! Love that typewriter. I looked back in your archives and saw that you’ve only recently started making woodcuts. Looks like you’re a natural – I look forward to following your blog.
    Annie

    • Gayle
    • September 21st, 2009

    Alex, how do we contact you if we are interested in any of your prints?

    • Murdoch
    • September 29th, 2009

    Alex they look amazing!
    Don’t know if i like the typewriter or the owls more but that’s a nice problem to have.
    You stuff just gets better and better

  3. What great stuff! I just discovered you through your link to my blog, thank you for letting me find you. I’ve added your blog to my Squidoo page on printmaking artists. I’ll try to keep up with your work, as Annie said, you’ve got natural talent & ability. Please feel free to drop me a line.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers